Posthumous  Homage

Immersion in God

It was Marseille, October 9, 1941, and it was eleven minutes past nine in the morning. Suddenly there was like a lightning stroke: in an instant his entire being was as if it were afire. He felt, as it were, the fire of God; he was as though immersed in God, immersed in eternity, hence outside of time. In that flash of lightning in which he was in God, there was what seemed an incredible irruption into him of things inexpressible. Then it was all over and he returned to a consciousness of reality and time as abruptly as he had exited them.

He had just experienced something beyond words. Then behold, three days later, October 12, there was a second enkindling. All that he could think was that he had complete knowledge. It was 1:25 p.m. He kept his secret to himself for years, not speaking of it even to his wife. He looked upon that illumination he had received as a potential explosion contained within him.

Some years later he became interested in the life of Saint Hildegard, and he had the surprise of his life, for he was not yet able to explain what had happened to him at Marseille – that coming on fire, that immersion in eternity. Here is what was revealed by Saint Hildegard, who lived in the 12th century: "At the age of 42 years and 7 months, a light and a dazzling flash, coming from a partially open heaven, penetrated the whole of my spirit, the whole of my heart, the whole of my being... And all at once I had an understanding of the Psalms, the Gospels and the other Catholic books, both from the Old and the New Testaments." In an instant, she had the knowledge!

As of that day of illumination Raoul began writing Le Livre des Cycles (first volume), accomplishing this at one stretch – 144 chapters –, the whole being done without any planning or research. It merited him the first prize in literature. The second volume of the Cycles and the other works which followed were written in the same fashion. The first book contained in embryo all that he later wrote.

He had many talents, passing from architecture to radio broadcasting as author, then as producer, director, etc.

Once he fled to Châteauneuf-de-Galaure, arriving at the right time to make a retreat that would mark him for life. The Mass began with the general intentions, and the first stunned him: "Let us pray," the preacher said, "for those who see in history the finger of God." It made Raoul start. He followed the entire retreat – a salutary balm to the suffering that had led him to that place. Following an afternoon of adoration before the Blessed Sacrament, and with the other retreatants,he made, "with a zeal that was total and absolute", his act of consecration following the formula of Saint Louis-Marie Grignion de Montfort.

After that time, the love he pledged to Mary quenched the cravings of his youth, and the Madonna made of him an apostle of multiple human resources which served her cause, sometimes in the light, sometimes in obscurity, with the same passion the cross had stilled, allowing the power of the Spirit to increase tenfold in his translucent spirit. Raoul gave himself to Mary with the love of a child, and he entered into her Mysteries with a joyous faith. He has departed, open to the Light in which every being lives again.

Marie-Paule

January 25, 1997

1977 - Raoul Auclair during a conference tour in Quebec.

 
 

"Raoul Auclair, A Prophet and Poet of the Immaculate "

 

Our friend Raoul died on January 8, 1997, during the octave of the Epiphany, at the age of ninety years and ten months. He passed away at 4:25 p.m. at the Enfant-Jesus Hospital in Quebec City, in the presence of his priest, Father Victor Rizzi and Brother Renaud Vallerand whom he affectionately called "his guardian angel". Like others of his friends, I had spent a few hours with him during his agony, contemplating his beloved countenance and holding his hands swollen through uremia. I hoped to help him, soothe his pain and calm his anguish. On the afternoon of his death, as I went about my usual tasks, I knew that Raoul was dying and I was afraid I would arrive too late to also witness his last breath. Although I had asked for this grace, I arrived at the hospital a half hour too late. That is the nature of things. I thanked God for having been able to be there to bid him my last goodbye, to ask for his blessing and to thank him once again for having accepted me as one of his friends, after having served as the intrument of my conversion.

That was nearly twenty years ago, April 3, 1977, and I was thirty at the time. The Church was celebrating Palm Sunday, at the beginning of Holy Week. I had renounced Christ, the Immaculate and the Church some fifteen years earlier, after having tainted the sacred waters of my baptism. Raoul had been invited by the Army of Mary to come to Quebec and present a series of conferences. At that time, he was still living in France and was an honorary member of the review Atlantis (an archeological, scientific and traditional review). Jacques d'Arès, director of the review, having been informed of this by Raoul, had suggested to him that he invite the Quebec subscribers to attend his conferences. This is what Raoul did by sending me a personal invitation written on the frontispiece page of the paper Marie of March 1977, of which the title was "The Lady of All Peoples."

The paper did not arouse my interest but I accepted the invitation because I presumed, wrongly, that the conference would deal with topics such as alchemy or the heritage of ancient cultures, the type of subject presented in Atlantis.

The conference was to begin at about two o'clock in the afternoon at the auditorium of the Enfant-Jesus Hospital (there where my earthly relationship with Raoul began and ended). I arrived at the same time as he did and our eyes met just as we were about to enter the hall. I immediately recognized in this man the expected speaker, although I had never seen him either in person or in a photograph. His presence and especially the intensity of his gaze caught my attention.

I walked into the hall and cast a glance about it. I saw – and I am using the thoughts and words of that time – a group of old ladies chatting and I thought I had fallen into a trap. A few ladies were at the door, and although at the time I was sporting a long beard and had very long hair, one of them (I later learned that they were Clémence Dumas and Fernande Levasseur) greeted me politely and asked me if I wanted to subscribe to the paper Marie which I recognized in fact as being like the one of the invitation. I replied in the negative, jokingly, for I wasn't interested in religion and I wasn't practising. Clémence insisted, stating in a tone which accepts no reply: "Subscribe; you won't regret it." Annoyed but also won over by her kindness and her assurance, I accepted.

Shaken, I began to experience an interior suffering unknown to me.

Then came time for the conference. Father Philippe Roy presented Raoul Auclair from Paris as a renowned French writer, poet, philosopher, guest speaker and Marian theologian. Later, Raoul would only glory in the title of "Knight of Mary".

Raoul walked over to the microphone. The audience became absorbed in an impressive silence. Then, Raoul began, saying in a strong and inspired voice: "Be on guard. Let no one mislead you". (Mt 24:4)

I was instantly converted. Fifteen years of a renegade life had just melted in the illumination of this "moment of eternity". And I say this so that there may be no mistake; this occurred without any convulsive start, without any psychic exaltation, as if nothing had happened. I say this to render homage to Raoul and to give witness to the Truth. Yes, in that instant, without reflection and without effort, I had found again my faith in everything that the Holy Catholic Church teaches and believes.

Like a prophet, Raoul continued on the theme of the end of the times and on the Marian eschatological apparitions. I drank great draughts of his words, those words so ancient and yet so new to me.

Thank you, Raoul, my friend. In expressing my gratitude, I cast a spiritual regard on the superior waters so brilliantly described in your books and I give thanks to you and to God and Mary for the resurrection of my spiritual body, a greater miracle than the resurrection of a physical body. And I know that I owe this to Raoul's inspired words and to the sufferings of so many souls who prayed for me. Many of us have also been captivated by Raoul Auclair's writings, he who was called to become the greatest theologian of all times according his formula of blessing as a son of Mary, as indicated in Life of Love.

I leave to others the task of speaking of him as a writer. I read his books and they always nourished my soul and my mind. I will simply stick to describing the simple and joyful man I knew. Whenever I expressed surprise at the inconceivable novelty and the grandeur of what he wrote, and tried to discover the source of his inspiration, he would humbly reply that the knowledge of "these things" had been given him by God as an infused knowledge. One day, at some point, Mary will most certainly bring forth a soul who will write his biography and lift the veil covering that part of the mystery which surrounds Raoul Auclair. But what is really his own is his style, the way in which he stated these sublime truths. And what beautiful writing, always with a play on words and corresponding to the beauty and order of the divine Work of Creation.

Raoul Auclair is, with Léon Bloy whom he called his spiritual father, one of the greatest Catholic French writers of this century.

The entire world will admire in the future his work as an eschatological writer, but who will remember the intelligent, sensitive and generous man? Who will recall his frank and resounding laughter when the distinguished Frenchman poked fun at the rustic Quebecer in a humorous way? Whether it was in the warmth of the living room of his apartment on twenty-sixth street in Limoilou or around the table at one of the capital's fine restaurants or even during the friendly meals shared with our families, Raoul also conversed simply with us. We were charmed by his thoughtfulness and the erudition of this Frenchman from France whom we would poke fun at occasionally to set him off the track.

As soon as we came into contact with Raoul's likeable personality, we always felt elevated and touched by the nobleness of his manners.

We were also able to appreciate his many human qualities, for Raoul was a well-informed music lover, a botanist, a cook and an artist. He made us discover the beauty of nature in all that was beautiful, good and true within it.

We would have to retrace the main events which marked his life in France before he moved to Quebec in order to discover the striking richness of the relationships he maintained with the great ones of this world as with several authentic mystics.

It is impossible to paint a finished portrait of Raoul, this accomplished man, in a short posthumous homage. Perhaps it suffices to say that Raoul Auclair was a man predestined and that he lived as a total man by revealing to us a total earth. Now that he has introduced us to an understanding of the paths leading from God to Man, it no doubt remains for us to enquire about the path which leads from Man to God.

A strong feeling of gratitude comes over me as I think of Raoul who, from On-High, can look upon our miseries with his eagle eye and see unfolding the mystery of the Co-Redemption. An idea of Raoul's refinement can be glimpsed in reading the dedication he wrote in his book, L'HOMME TOTAL DANS LA TERRE TOTALE, for our fourteen-year-old son, whom he did us the honor of accepting to be the godfather. It reads: "One day you will read this book and you will find in it your godfather's soul. And I will look down upon you from my heavenly balcony."

Is not the story of the conversion of a soul, dazzled by Raoul Auclair's enlightened words, a message of hope for parents whose children have wandered away from God? If you have a son or daughter engulfed in the darkness or ensnared in Satan's fangs (and this is not just an image), never give up hope. I myself was in this darkness, most unhappy and alone, and the miracle took place. Your child too is unhappy, but you can believe that at the hour set by the Immaculate, he will wash his clothing in the blood of the Lamb. I give witness to this as a tribute to Raoul Auclair, in homage to the Lady of All Peoples and for my brothers and sisters in the Family of the Sons and Daughters of Mary who may perhaps find in this a reason to hope.

 

In closing, let us address to the prophet Raoul these words which a man dressed in linen standing above the waters of the river addressed to the prophet Daniel: "Go, take your rest, you shall rise for your reward at the end of days". (Dn 12:13)

Gilles Couture, St-Rédempteur

© 2019 - Publications Raoul Auclair Inc   Québec, Canada

Hommage  Posthume

Un instant de grâce

À Marseille, le 9 octobre 1941, il était 9h11 du matin. Soudain, un foudroiement: tout son être est embrasé en un instant. Il ressentait comme le feu de Dieu, il était comme immergé en Dieu, immergé dans l’éternité, donc hors du temps. Dans cet éclair où il était en Dieu, il y eut en lui comme une invasion incroyable de choses inexprimables. Tout disparut, il reprit conscience de la réalité et du temps, aussi instantanément qu’il en était sorti.

Il venait de vivre quelque chose d’inexprimable. Or, trois jours plus tard, le 12 octobre, un second embrasement. La seule chose qu’il pouvait s’exprimer à lui-même, c’était qu’il savait tout. Il était 13h25. Il conserva ce secret pendant des années, sans même en parler à son épouse. Il considérait l’illumination reçue comme une sorte d’explosion contenue en puissance en lui.

Quelques années après, il s’intéressa à la vie de sainte Hildegarde et il eut la surprise de sa vie, car il ne pouvait pas encore s’expliquer ce qui lui était arrivé à Marseille: cet embrasement, cette immersion dans l’éternité. Voici ce que révélait sainte Hildegarde qui vécut au XIIe siècle: «À l’âge de 42 ans et 7 mois, une lumière et un éclat éblouissant, me venant du ciel entr’ouvert, pénétra tout mon esprit, tout mon coeur et tout mon être... Et tout à coup, j’eus l’intelligence des Psaumes, des Évangiles et des autres livres catholiques, tant de l’Ancien que du Nouveau Testament.» En un instant, elle savait!

Or, c’est depuis ce jour de l’illumination que Raoul commença à écrire Le Livre des Cycles (1er livre), y travaillant tout d’un trait – 144 chapitres –, et tout s’ordonnait sans calcul et sans recherche, ce qui lui valut l’honneur du premier prix en littérature. Le 2e livre des Cycles et les autres qui suivirent furent écrits de la même manière. Le premier contenait en puissance tout ce qu’il écrivit par la suite.

Il avait tant de talents, passant de l’architecture à la radiodiffusion en tant qu’auteur, puis réalisateur, metteur en scène, etc.

C’est à Châteauneuf-de-Galaure qu’il s’enfuit un jour, arrivant au bon moment pour faire une retraite qui le marquera pour la vie. La messe commença par des intentions de prière, et la première le bouleversa: «Prions, dit le Prédicateur, pour ceux qui, dans l’Histoire, voient le sens de Dieu.» Raoul eut un sursaut. Il suivit toute la retraite – un baume salutaire sur la douleur qui l’avait conduit en ce lieu – et, après un après-midi d’adoration devant le Saint Sacrement, il fit avec les retraitants, «dans un élan total et absolu», sa consécration selon la formule de saint Louis-Marie Grignion de Montfort.

Depuis ce temps, l’amour qu’il vouait à Marie a étanché ses soifs de jeunesse et la Madone en a fait un apôtre aux multiples ressources humaines qui servirent à Sa Cause, tantôt dans la lumière, tantôt dans l’ombre, avec la même fougue que la croix a apaisée, laissant se décupler la puissance de l’Esprit en son esprit translucide.
Raoul s’est livré à Marie avec un amour d’enfant et il est entré dans Ses Mystères avec une foi joyeuse. Il est parti, ouvert à la Lumière où tout être revit.

Marie-Paule

25 janvier 1997

1977 - Raoul, lors d’une tournée de conférences au Québec.

 
 

Raoul Auclair, poète et prophète de l'Immaculée

Notre ami Raoul est décédé le 8 janvier 1997, dans l’octave de l’Épiphanie. Il avait quatre-vingt-dix ans et dix mois. Il s’est éteint à seize heures vingt-cinq, à l’Hôpital de l’Enfant-Jésus de Québec, en présence de son prêtre, le Père Victor Rizzi, et du Frère Renaud Vallerand qu’il appelait affectueusement son «ange gardien». Comme d’autres de ses amis, je l’avais accompagné quelques heures dans son agonie en contemplant son visage aimé et enserrant ses mains gonflées par l’urémie. J’espérais l’aider à soulager ses douleurs et calmer son angoisse. L’après-midi de sa mort, en vaquant à mes occupations coutumières, je savais que Raoul se mourait et je craignais d’arriver en retard pour recueillir, moi aussi, son dernier souffle; j’en avais demandé la grâce, mais je me présentai à l’hôpital trente minutes trop tard. C’était dans la nature des choses. Je remerciai Dieu d’être là pour lui faire mes derniers adieux, lui demander sa bénédiction et le remercier encore une fois de m’avoir accueilli dans son intimité, après avoir servi d’instrument à ma conversion.

C’était, il y a bientôt vingt ans, le 3 avril 1977, et j’en avais trente. L’Église célébrait le Jour des Rameaux, à l’entrée de la Semaine Sainte. Il y avait quinze ans que j’avais renié le Christ, l’Immaculée et l’Église, après avoir souillé l’Eau sacrée de mon Baptême. Raoul avait été invité par l’Armée de Marie à venir donner une série de conférences au Québec. À ce moment, il résidait encore en France et était membre d’honneur de l’association de la revue Atlantis (revue d’archéologie scientifique et traditionnelle). Jacques d’Arès, directeur de la revue, informé par Raoul, lui proposa d’inviter les abonnés du Québec à venir assister à ses conférences. Ce que Raoul fit en m’expédiant une invitation personnelle écrite sur la page frontispice du journal Marie de mars 1977, dont le titre était «La Dame de tous les Peuples».

Le journal n’éveilla pas mon intérêt, mais j’acceptai l’invitation, car je présumais, à tort, que la conférence porterait sur des sujets tels l’Alchimie ou l’héritage des cultures anciennes propres à la revue Atlantis.

La conférence devait avoir lieu vers les deux heures de l’après-midi, à l’auditorium de l’Hôpital de l’Enfant-Jésus (le lieu du commencement et de la fin de ma relation terrestre avec Raoul). J’arrivai en même temps que lui et nos yeux se croisèrent juste avant d’entrer dans la salle. Je reconnus immédiatement en cet homme le conférencier attendu, sans pourtant l’avoir jamais vu, ni en personne ni en photo. Sa prestance et surtout l’intensité de son regard attirèrent mon attention.

Je pénétrai dans la salle et jetai un coup d’oeil circulaire à l’intérieur. Je vis, exprimé avec les pensées et les mots d’alors, un groupe de bonnes femmes qui jasaient et me crus tombé dans un piège. À l’entrée se tenaient quelques dames et, bien que je portasse à l’époque une grosse barbe et les cheveux très longs, l’une d’elles (je sus par la suite qu’il s’agissait de Clémence Dumas, accompagnée de Fernande Levasseur) me salua poliment et me demanda si je voulais m’abonner au journal Marie, que je reconnus d’ailleurs comme celui de l’invitation. Je répondis négativement tout en blaguant, car je ne m’intéressais pas à la religion et je n’étais pas pratiquant. Clémence insista et dit sur un ton qui n’admettait pas de réplique: «Abonnez-vous, vous ne le regretterez pas.» Agacé mais aussi gagné par sa gentillesse et son assurance, j’acceptai.

Ébranlé, je commençais à ressentir une souffrance intérieure que je ne connaissais pas.

Puis ce fut l’heure de la conférence. Le Père Philippe Roy annonça Raoul Auclair, de Paris, éminent écrivain français, poète, philosophe, conférencier, théologien marial. Plus tard, il s’honorera seulement et surtout du titre de «Chevalier de Marie».

Raoul s’avança au micro. L’assistance s’absorba dans un silence impressionné. Puis, Raoul prenant la parole dit d’une voix forte et inspirée: «Prenez garde qu’on ne vous séduise» (Mt 24, 4).

À l’instant, j’étais converti. Quinze ans d’une vie de renégat venaient de fondre dans l’illumination de cet «instant d’éternité». Et cela (je le dis pour qu’on ne s’y trompe point) sans soubresaut physique, sans aucune exaltation psychique, comme si rien ne s’était passé. Je le dis pour rendre hommage à Raoul et pour rendre témoignage à la Vérité. Oui, dans l’instant, sans réflexion et sans effort, j’avais retrouvé la foi en tout ce que la Sainte Église catholique croit et enseigne.

Raoul, en prophète, continua sur le thème de la fin des temps et des apparitions eschatologiques mariales. Je buvais à torrents ses paroles si anciennes et pourtant si nouvelles pour moi.

Merci, ami Raoul; en exprimant ma reconnaissance, je jette un regard spirituel dans les eaux supérieures si magistralement décrites dans tes livres et je te rends grâce ainsi qu’à Dieu et à Marie pour la résurrection de mon corps spirituel, un miracle plus grand que la résurrection d’un corps physique. Et je sais que je le dois aux paroles inspirées de Raoul et aux souffrances de tant d’âmes qui ont prié pour moi. Beaucoup d’entre nous ont aussi été saisis par les écrits de Raoul Auclair, appelé à devenir le plus grand théologien de tous les temps, selon sa formule de bénédiction de fils de Marie expressément écrite dans Vie d’Amour.

Je laisse à d’autres le soin de parler de l’écrivain. J’ai lu ses livres et toujours ils ont nourri mon âme et mon esprit. Je m’en tiendrai à l’homme simple et joyeux que j’ai connu. Si je m’étonnais de l’inconcevable nouveauté et de la grandeur de ce qu’il écrivait, et voulais m’enquérir de l’origine de son inspiration, il répondait humblement que la connaissance de «ces choses» lui avait été donnée par Dieu, comme une science infuse. Marie suscitera bien, un jour d’entre les jours, une âme qui écrira sa biographie et soulèvera le voile recouvrant la part de mystères qui entoure Raoul Auclair. Mais ce qui lui appartient en propre, c’est son style, sa manière de dire ces sublimes vérités. Et quelle magnifique écriture toute en jeux de mots et en correspondances avec la beauté et l’ordre de l’Oeuvre divine de la Création.

Raoul Auclair est, avec Léon Bloy qu’il appelait son père spirituel, un des plus grands écrivains catholiques français de ce siècle.

La terre entière admirera dans l’avenir son oeuvre d’écrivain eschatologique, mais qui se souviendra de l’homme intelligent, généreux, sensible? Qui se souviendra de ses éclats de rire francs et sonores quand le Français distingué se moquait avec humour du rustre Québécois? Que ce soit dans la chaleur de son salon de l’appartement de la 26e Rue, à Limoilou, ou à la table des bons restaurants de la capitale, ou encore lors des repas amicaux au sein de nos familles, Raoul devisait simplement avec nous. Nous étions charmés par sa délicatesse et son érudition de Français de France dont nous nous moquions un peu pour donner le change.

Dès lors que nous étions en contact avec la personnalité attachante de Raoul, nous nous sentions toujours grandis et atteints par la noblesse de ses manières.

Nous avons pu aussi apprécier ses nombreuses qualités humaines, car Raoul était un mélomane averti, un botaniste, un cuisinier et un artiste. Il nous faisait découvrir la beauté de la nature dans tout ce qu’elle a de beau, de bon, de vrai.

Il nous faudrait retracer les principaux événements qui ont jalonné sa vie en France, avant son installation au Québec, pour découvrir la richesse étonnante des rapports qu’il entretint avec les grands de ce monde comme avec plusieurs mystiques authentiques.

Il est impossible d’offrir un portrait achevé de l’homme émérite que fut Raoul, dans un court hommage posthume; il suffit peut-être de dire que Raoul Auclair fut un homme prédestiné et qu’il vécut en homme total en nous révélant une Terre totale. Maintenant qu’il nous a introduits dans la compréhension des chemins qui mènent de Dieu jusqu’à l’Homme, il nous reste sans doute à nous enquérir de la voie qui va de l’Homme jusqu’à Dieu.

Un vif sentiment de gratitude m’envahit en pensant à Raoul qui, de Là-Haut, embrasse de son regard d’aigle nos misères et voit se dérouler le mystère de la Co-Rédemption. L’on estimera toute la délicatesse de Raoul en lisant la dédicace de L’HOMME TOTAL DANS LA TERRE TOTALE, qu’il écrivit pour mon fils de 14 ans dont il nous fit l’honneur d’accepter le parrainage. Elle dit ceci: «Un jour tu liras ce livre et tu y trouveras l’âme de ton parrain. Et moi, je te regarderai du balcon du ciel.»

L’histoire de la conversion d’une âme, éblouie par la parole lumineuse de Raoul Auclair, n’est-elle pas un message d’espoir aux parents dont les enfants se sont éloignés de Dieu? Si vous avez une fille ou un fils engouffré dans les ténèbres et enserré dans la gueule de Satan (et ce n’est pas là une image), ne désespérez jamais. J’y étais dans ces ténèbres, malheureux comme une pierre, et le miracle s’est produit. Votre enfant aussi est malheureux, et croyez qu’à l’heure de l’Immaculée il lavera son vêtement dans le sang de l’Agneau. Je témoigne de cela en hommage à Raoul Auclair, en hommage à la Dame de tous les Peuples et pour mes frères et soeurs de la Famille des Fils et Filles de Marie qui peut-être trouveront là une raison d’espérer.

En terminant, adressons au prophète Raoul ce que disait au prophète Daniel l’homme vêtu de lin qui était au-dessus des eaux du fleuve: «Et toi, va jusqu’à la Fin; tu te reposeras, et tu te lèveras pour recevoir ton lot à la Fin des jours» (Dn 12, 13).

Gilles Couture, St-Rédempteur

© 2019 - Publications Raoul Auclair Inc   Québec, Canada